Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
Share |

Wisconsin Psychology Foundation



The Wisconsin Psychology Foundation is pleased to announce its call for applications for three $1000 scholarships for students enrolled in Wisconsin psychology graduate programs. These scholarships were established in honor of state and national leaders in the field of psychology who also served as presidents of the Wisconsin Psychological Association. they are:

                                 The Walter Gleason, PhD, Scholarship
                                 The Wilbur Humber, PhD, Scholarship
                                 The Asher Pacht, PhD, Scholarship

Students interested in applying for one of these scholarships must submit the following:

     • A completed application, including all necessary attachments.
     • Documentation that the applicant has completed at least one year of
study as a full-time student enrolled in a Wisconsin program that
               grants a doctoral 
degree in psychology (EdD, PhD, PsyD). A statement from
               the department chair 
or program dean must be submitted to verify current
     • Current membership in the Wisconsin Psychological Association as a Student
     • Official transcript(s) of all post-secondary schools attended.
              NOTICE:  Due to cost and timeliness concerns, the Wisconsin
                              Psychology Foundation Board has agreed to accept
                              "unofficial" transcripts as part of the scholarship
                              application process. They reserve the right to request
                              official transcripts if needed.

     • Three letters of recommendation (at least one from a professor in the graduate
               program in which the applicant is currently enrolled).
     • An essay by the applicant describing why the committee should consider him or
for a scholarship. The committee will consider academic achievement, 
               professional goals, and history of service to the community and to
               psychology in 
their decision. The essay must be limited to 500 words.

Application forms and all supporting materials are due:

                                                     December 15

Applications should be submitted using the form on this website -- See below. 

The Wisconsin Psychology Foundation Scholarship Committee may choose not to award all scholarships. The decision of the Committee is final and will be announced during the Annual Convention of the Wisconsin Psychological Association.


These Wisconsin Psychology Foundation scholarships have been named in honor of psychologists who made outstanding and long-lasting contributions to the profession in Wisconsin. We are proud to carry on their tradition by supporting the future of the profession.

Walter J. Gleason, PhD
Served as WPA President in 1981. His professional work emphasized his strong dedication
to public service. He was also instrumental in establishing vehicles for recognition of
student research and the scientific basis of psychology.
Wilbur J. Humber, PhD
Was the first President of WPA, in 1950. Founding partner of an industrial/organizational
psychology consulting firm that is still in business today, he proudly demonstrated his
commitment to establishing an identity for the profession as applied in all settings.
Asher R. Pacht, PhD
Served as President of WPA in 1963 and again in 1973. In addition, he served as a
member (and Chair) of the Psychology Examining Board, 1984-1991. Considered one of
the "fathers" of correctional psychology, he is known for his contributions to public service,
education and standards of professional practice

Wisconsin Psychology Foundation
Scholarship Application Form

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal